Fujian Medical University MBBS Program

Fujian Medical University (FJMU), located in Fuzhou, the capital city of Fujian Province, serves as a center for teaching, research, treatment, and prevention, and provides other social services. It was founded formerly as Fujian Provincial Medical School in 1937, and renamed Fujian Provincial Medical College in 1939 and Fujian Medical College in 1949 respectively. In 1969, its name was changed into Fujian Medical University after moving to Quanzhou and joining with Fujian College of Traditional Chinese Medicine and Medical Department of HuaQiao University. It then moved back to Fuzhou in 1978, with its name changed into Fujian Medical College in 1982. In April 1996 it adopted its present name.

At present, the university comprises 19 schools and departments, which offer 23 undergraduate programs, 22 doctorate programs, 59 master programs, and 2 authorized master degree specialties. In addition to its extensive academic programs, the University has established an efficient clinical teaching and practice network, composed of 1 stomatological hospital, 26 clinical teaching hospitals and 10 affiliated hospitals, of which 9 are ranked among the first-rank hospitals. In 2003 it was designated by Fujian Provincial Government as the university for key construction and development. In the same year, it passed the evaluation for undergraduate education organized by the Ministry of Education.

Fujian Medical University has also attached great importance to academic research. It hosts 1 post-doctor clinical research center, 65 research institutions, 2 provincial "Project 211" key disciplines, 13 provincial key disciplines, 8 disciplines of prior development designated by Fujian Provincial Department of Science and Technology, 6 key disciplines at school level, 6 provincial key medical specialties, 5 provincial leading specialties with medical characteristics and 3 key laboratories designated by Fujian Province, which have undertaken great scientific tasks, and made remarkable achievements. Since 2001, more than 100 scientific research programs have been rewarded, over 5,500 papers published, with 86 of them recorded in SCI, and 45 academic works issued as well. The University has published and issued several academic journals to readers at home and abroad, including The Journal of Fujian Medical University (the medical science edition), The Journal of Fujian Medical University (the social science edition), Chinese Journal of Hypertension, and Chinese Journal of Cardiovascular Rehabilitation. The University Library, as the main medical library of Fujian province, holds an area of 25,233 square meters and a collection of 1.53 million volumes.

(Source: Fujian Medical University)

Learn more about MBBS in China, please visit MBBS in China

Learn more about university in China, please visit University

The University of Nottingham Ningbo China